Meet Zara! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Zara is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Adoradoodle
Sex: Female
Weight: 43 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Zara‘s Story

❤️Zara is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, I'm Zara, the sweetest three-year-old female "Adoradoodle" you will ever meet! I weigh 43lbs and don't shed. I'm looking for a patient forever family that will spend time helping me get over my nervousness and fears.

My foster mom says I am the sweetest, most gentle dog ever, especially since I've had a bit of a rough start. I'm very wary of new things and people, but once I feel comfortable, I will be your best and closest friend. My nickname here is Velcro, so you get the picture. I love to have my ears scratched and just to be near you. Toys aren't really my thing, although I will chew on them now and then. I'm interested when meeting new dogs, but once we've sniffed, I don't interact much and don't like them getting in my personal space.

I'm easygoing when it comes to my schedule. We get up around 6:00 am and go outside for my business. I like to make my breakfast last, so will eat some early and then more later. We usually take a good long walk in the morning and then I lay as close to my foster mom as I can while she works during the day. We take breaks during the day to make sure there are no squirrels in the yard. I would really like to catch one and will chase and run until they are all gone. I eat dinner around 6:00 pm and then I secure the perimeter against squirrels or cats before we go to sleep around 10:30 pm. I sleep in my crate in my foster parents room all night with out a problem. Being in a car is new to me, so you have to coax me in, but I don't mind the ride and just need more experience to be totally at ease.

I'm still very afraid of strangers and will hide behind my foster mom when they approach. I am potty trained, but I'm still working on my independence in the yard and like my foster mom to come outside with me. I love my daily walks and walk great on a leash but I need a Gentle Leader because I am stronger than I look and will dart quickly to chase a squirrel.

- Dog sibling not required - may be best to be an only
- No children
- Patient couple with a quiet household and yard.

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Zara is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? No
Energy Level: Low Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work