Meet Xalina! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Xalina is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Mini Poodle
Sex: Female
Weight: 14 lbs
Age: Adult (3-8 yrs)
Shedding: None

Xalina‘s Story

❤️Xalina is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi! My name is Xalina (za-lee-na) and I also respond to “Zeena” for short. I’m a 14 lb Miniature Poodle female who turned 4 years old last June.

I’m a very happy, sweet & petite, little lady whose learning all about the good life being inside with a family! I love soft blankets, snuggling on furniture and learning how to play with toys and my fur-sisters – even the cat is ok, too! I’m super curious and like to explore everything both inside and outside. I discovered chasing squirrels and rabbits is so much fun! And I love my daily walks. I’m good on a leash/harness once I get over my initial excitement and I settle into a nice pace. I’m also calm, loving and I give the best, tiny little kisses, too. I love to be close and lean in for hugs. I look directly at you for attention with my cute pose – hoping you can’t resist me! I sleep in a crate at night in my foster’s room without making a peep, but I would prefer to sleep with my new family every night!

I wake up early with my foster family to go potty outside and then I sit patiently waiting for my breakfast bowl. I like to eat inside a crate so I know the food is all mine. I know sit, whoa, not now, no and down commands and I can learn so much more with treats! I recently discovered squeaky toys and I also like lounging in open door crates – especially curled up with my fur-sisters. When left alone for a few hours, the 3 of us lounge together in the game room with a TV and a few potty pads in case one of us needs it. I haven’t mastered that yet, so I just hold it until I’m let outside. Dinner is 4-5 pm then I go outside to potty & run around or we have play time inside, watching TV and then bedtime about 9 pm. I’m pretty calm most of the time with occasional zooming around!

I have learned so much from my fur-sisters, but I still get nervous meeting strangers on walks or inside the house. I like to be picked up so I feel safe and calm because I’m still learning this new life and gaining confidence every day! I wear a bell because I do try to sneak away to the trash can and the litter box….until my name is called – then I act like nothing happened! I still need help with not begging for food – it’s just so hard not to! I do require a high quality food to help prevent UTI issues. When I was surrendered, I had a Bladder Stone and a bad UTI. But all that is fixed now and I have perfect potty habits. Car rides can upset my tummy sometimes so it’s best to bring a towel until I get more used to riding. I can't wait to meet my fur-ever family!

- Must have another dog sibling preferred
- No children under age 6
- Active family
- No Apartments or shared walls
- Fenced in Yard
- Work From Home Parent / Flexible schedule preferred
- Patience for Training
- Commitment to Special Diet (ex. Hills Prescription CD)

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Xalina is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: High Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!