Meet Sunny! – In Foster Care

Sunny is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 10 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Sunny‘s Story

❤️Sunny is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Greetings everyone, I'm Sunny, also known as Miss Sunshine! I'm a one-year-old Female Adoradoodle weighing 10 pounds, sporting a lovely mix of white and peach fur (and no shedding, yay!).

Despite facing some tough challenges, I'm the epitome of resilience and love. I've conquered injuries, broken bones, and even underwent two amputations. When I arrived at DRR, all my legs were broken. Sadly, my back legs had to be removed due to weak bones, and while my front ones healed somewhat, they would have been better off if they had been set properly when they broke. But thanks to DRR, I'm here today! In my foster home, I get along swimmingly with all the other dogs, although my play style is limited to laying down to wrestle and play. I may not win at indoor chase, but I give it my best shot! Whenever I see humans, my tail wags furiously, and I'm all about rolling over and wiggling because being carried and loved on has been the best therapy for me. Adjusting to life with just two legs is a bit challenging, especially since I still have the urge to play, but I make up for it by soaking up the sun with my canine pals and indulging in leisure activities like chewing on sticks and licking peanut butter off a mat.

My day typically starts around 6:30 am when my foster mom carries me outside and uses a sling to assist me in walking around for potty time. Despite my physical limitations, I can really zip around the yard (although my foster mom draws the line at going under bushes!). I have breakfast around 7 am and enjoy nibbling on food throughout the day, with lunchtime snacks and dinner at 6 pm. It's crucial for me to maintain a low weight so my remaining legs can support my body. Most of my time is spent resting, either on a cozy dog bed near my furry friends or on the couch where my foster mama can keep an eye on me (yes, I'll definitely ask to be helped down if I need something!). I wear a drag bag part of the day to protect my backside when I scoot around the house. I've recently been introduced to a wheelchair, but I'm still getting used to it as it's a bit intimidating. Throughout the day, I take breaks for potty time outside, but we keep a pee pad close by indoors just in case. Occasionally, we go for a stroll in my kid stroller, which has been a delightful way to explore the neighborhood and soak in all the new sights and sounds.

I'm still learning to communicate my potty needs to my humans. Before my second amputation, I was already potty trained, so apart from that, I'm a perfect little companion! I'm a special pup with a super cute demeanor and a bit of an attitude, but I do have some special needs. I rely on my humans, so I'd be the ideal pocket-sized companion for someone who has the time and patience to help me navigate the world.

ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS:
- Must have another dog sibling (20lb limit)
- No children under age 13
- Calm Household
- Prefer one story house or apartment, otherwise I must be kept on the bottom floor to avoid falling accidents
- Work From Home Parent
- Flexible Schedule
- Committed owner to help me navigate the house and yard

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at www.doodlerockrescue.org

Sunny is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption

Behavior

Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Smaller Dogs Only
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: Low Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some

Training

Potty Trained: Needs Work
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!