Meet Spike! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Spike is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Labradoodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 65 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: Very Little

Spike‘s Story

❤️Spike is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi! My name is Spike and I am a 2-year-old, Male Labradoodle, weighing in at 65lbs with light shedding. I've been told I'm perfect, just a good boy with a heart of gold. I wake up happy and ready for some cuddles. My tail never stops wagging because all things are a fun adventure.

I am a playful guy who loves a tennis ball and playing fetch. I love to be outside and to go on long walks. I love meeting new people and perk up when I hear kids playing. I'm still young, so I have puppy energy, but I do have my moments of quiet time. I can tend to play a little rough and sometimes get mouthy, so I need to be around older kids. I love, love, love to be around my people and will talk to you when I want some attention or need to go outside. I know all my commands, love riding in the car, and I even pee on command - see, I am perfect!

I am pretty easy going in the morning. I wake up when you wake up usually around 6:30am. The first thing I do is run to the door to go outside and do my business. I might have breakfast then a play or cuddle session before a good long walk. I monitor my foster mom while she is working during the day, making sure I get plenty of pets and ball-throwing during her breaks. I love to look out the window and talk to the people and their dogs walking by. I eat dinner around 6:00pm and go on another walk or have a good fetch session in the yard before going to bed around 10:00pm. I sleep on my bed on the floor in my foster's room. Sometimes I sleep on the my foster’s comfy bed if they let me. I am a very good sleeper and don't wake anyone until the morning.

I have had several ear infections in the last year, so I am on special food to help with allergies and will need to stay on a single protein diet. I’m looking for a family who will be diligent about helping me to keep my ears clean and dry and infection free. I'm so much more fun when I feel good.

- A fun fur sibling to play with would be great, but not required
- No children under age 6
- Active family that will incorporate me in their many activities, play fetch with me and make sure I get plenty of exercise.

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Spike is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!