Meet Petey! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Petey is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Adoradoodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 30 lbs
Age: Adult (3-8 yrs)
Shedding: Very Little

Petey‘s Story

❤️Petey is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, I'm Petey! I’m a 7-year-old, 30-pound happy boy who truly deserves the world. When I came into DRR, I was in rough shape. You probably remember my heartbreaking rescue photos. I've been through a lot, and despite my life of neglect, I’m still the happiest, sweetest, cuddliest pup who loves all humans and dogs! Yes, I have 3 legs, but I don't let that stop me one bit!

I am so loving and affectionate! I'm deeply devoted to my people and will love you forever! I'm also a talker! It's my way of communicating, especially when it's meal time, when I want attention, or when I'm in the car. I LOVE my food so much, I sing and make silly noises while you prep it for me! Foster mom says it's so charming! I do great with all dogs, but I get excited/vocal when I meet a new dog. So I prefer a home without a revolving door of pups. I haven’t been around many children, but I’m so sweet I know I’d love them! I'm a very calm boy but do have some bursts of energy! My favorite pastimes are cuddling, napping in cozy spots (like the laundry basket), and best of all; sleeping with my humans at night! I do shed lightly and will need occasional grooming.

I’m potty trained, use a doggie door, and am doing great on the leash! I don't like my crate and will sing loudly if you put me in there. Luckily, I’m such a good boy and can be left home alone (not crated) for short periods as long as I have a dog buddy to keep me company! 

My front left leg was severely broken when I came to DRR, so I had to have it amputated. But no worries, I’ve healed perfectly and get around just fine on 3 legs! I can even go up and down stairs! I've had quite a few teeth removed due to severe dental disease, but I have 6 teeth left (front/canine) and can still eat kibble like a champ! I'm a very healthy boy but do have a chicken allergy. I'm doing well on non-prescription fish and rice food!

- Dog sibling NOT required. If no dog sibling, I must have someone at home with me.
- No shared walls - I'm can be vocal.
- Stay-at-home parent(s), I love my people and don't like being alone.

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Photography by: Haute Dog Couture Pet Photography

Petey is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work