Meet Opie! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Opie is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Schnauzer Mix
Sex: Male
Weight: 14 lbs
Age: Puppy
Shedding: Very Little

Opie‘s Story

❤️Opie is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, my name is Opie and I am a 7-month-old male schnauzer mix. I currently weigh 14lbs and I don’t think I’ll get much bigger. Cool fact about me - I barely shed! Foster mom may find one hair on the floor, but it's pretty rare!

I am your typical happy, bouncy puppy! However, I am a little shy at first given that during my first months of life, humans ignored (and possibly abused) me and I was dumped. BUT my foster mom and siblings took me in and I’m totally part of the pack now! I love to go for walks daily, sunbathe outside while rolling in the grass, play with my foster fur brother (he’s my best friend - we play ALL DAY), and play with ALL the toys!

I currently sleep in a kennel at night. I wake up around 7am to potty then it’s breakfast time. I. LOVE. FOOD. During the day I am loose in the house with my foster siblings. I have never had an accident inside because I learned the doggie door on my first day! I am really smart, however, I’ll need to work on potty training if you don’t have a doggie door. My daily life consists of playing with my foster brother, going for walks, eating, sleeping, and chasing squirrels outside.

I’m still working on trusting humans 100%. Don’t get me wrong, I will wag my tail when I see you, but it takes me some time to warm up before I come up to you. I prefer older kiddos who can be gentle and patient with me while I warm up and learn to trust. I’m leash trained but would love to work on basic commands more and have you show me that you’ll love me for furever.

- Must have another playful dog sibling around my size (10 - 30lbs)
- No children under age 10
- Active family who can keep up with my puppy energy

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please

Opie is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Smaller Dogs Only
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work