Meet Frankie! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Frankie is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Adoradoodle
Weight: 18 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)

Frankie‘s Story

Hi, everyone! I’m the one you’re searching for!! My name is Frankie, and I’m looking for my new Forever Home – could it be yours??

I’m a handsome young man, about two years old, and I’ve been told I have Mini Sheepadoodle in my genes. I’m best known for my calm yet playful nature, my award-winning smile, the way I cock my head when I’m listening to you and my world-class cuddles.

I’m looking for a loving home – with or without kids and other pets – where my person or people are home most of the time, work from home or are able to take me to play with friends during the day while they are gone. I just love being near my people! Though I will go into my crate when you leave (sometimes a little begrudgingly), I don’t like to stay there longer than about 4 hours at a time. And I will be SO excited when you get home to let me out to come play with you! I actually do like my crate, I just prefer to hang out there on my own terms and will often go in to chill, snuggle in with my blanket and take a little nap. And speaking of naps, my Foster Mom thinks it’s pretty funny when she finds me napping on my back with all four legs in the air…but what can I say, it’s comfy and my favorite napping position! But when it comes to bedtime, I prefer to sleep in bed with my people or right next to the bed on a comfy blanket.

A little more about what I’m looking for in my forever home… I love to be loved on! Belly rubs, scratches behind the ears, lots of petting and a daily grooming with a soft brush all make me one happy boy. And when I’m happy, I’ll be sure to wag my tail and flash my lady-killing grin at you – and your heart will be mine! I’m amazing with kids, if I do say so myself. Since I’m fairly small and very gentle, I do good with both little kids and bigger ones (as long as they aren’t rough with me). As far as four-legged friends, I like the company of fellow pups, though I’m most comfortable with ones my size or smaller. I can start out a little gruff with bigger dogs. I have to show them that I’m tougher than I look and may even bark (something I rarely do!) to let them know not to mess with me. If you give me a little time and love and show me we’re all safe together, I will warm up to bigger dogs that are friendly like me. And I do fine with cats.

I LOVE a good walk, so I hope you do too! I’m great on a leash as long as you let me do my fair share of sniffing – there are just so many amazing smells out there! If I had it my way, we’d walk twice a day, every day! My Foster Mom and I walk at least a mile a day – sometimes two – and when we’re done, I could keep going! I just love to see the world, and I really prefer to do my business on walks too. I’m potty trained and have never had an accident at my Foster Home. But I’m not so interested in going to the bathroom in the backyard unless there are other dogs around for me to hang with, and I can follow their lead. The backyard is where I like to just lay in the grass and relax, sit down next to you so you can pet me - - or play! I can be very playful and love to romp around the backyard chasing and playing with my people or other doggie friends. I’ll get down on my front legs, then take off running around in circles at warp speed, smiling with my tongue hanging out of my mouth. And when I’m not outside, I still like to keep an eye on what’s going on out there, so you can often find me resting my chin on the window sill and just gazing outside.

I’m not too big – about 18 pounds and full grown – but I do need to gain a few pounds, as the vet said I’m underweight. Before I made it to my Foster Home, I was roaming the streets, so I didn’t eat too well, and these days I’m a pretty picky eater when it comes to ‘dog food,’ and I’m not really motivated by treats. In fact, I’m still trying to find a doggie treat I like. Maybe you can help me do some more taste testing!

I don’t talk much about my background, but I’ll tell you this…I still get a little skittish, a bit nervous and scared, when it comes to loud noises like the garage door or thunder. And when I get scared, I may even start to shake. But with a little love and hugs from my people, I feel safe in no time. And though I’m happy once I get in the car, it takes a little coaxing to get me in, or you may need to pick me up and put me in the backseat. I’m great on rides around town, but please don’t take me on longer drives, as I do get car sick when we’re driving on the highway or when we’re in the car for very long.

So…if you’re looking for a charming best friend who has lots of love to give…if you can spend lots of quality time with me and provide ample belly rubs, snuggles and play time…we might be a match! I hope to meet you soon!

Frankie is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety:


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work