Meet Oakley! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Oakley is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Goldendoodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 35 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)

Oakley‘s Story

❤️Oakley is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi! I’m Oakley, a 1 year old male Goldendoodle, weighing in at 35lbs of cuddly fluff.

I was a breeder surrender with my brothers and clearly had a tough start at life. I’ve come such a long way, and I’m still working hard to trust.

You’ve never met a lovey buddy quite like me! My foster mom says I’m the sweetest love bug and snuggler, and once I warm up and settle in, you will have a snuggle buddy for life. I love to sit right next to you or in your lap and snuggle all day long. I also like to go outside and have the zoomies! Run and snuggle… run and snuggle… that’s my favorite kind of day!

I do have some fearful quirks that my forever family will need to patiently work through, like being very afraid of loud noises, thresholds, and leashes. Sometimes it takes time and patience for me to come back into the house after using the bathroom because I get scared and nervous about walking through the door. Having another smart dog friend has helped me a lot to learn the ropes and understand that it’s okay to have a comfy life! I thrive in a calm environment where I have lots of quiet, patience and consistency. A loud house isn’t the life for me… I’m more of a coffee-by-the-fire type guy. Give my a blanket and lap, and I’m good for the day! I’m taking medicine for my nervousness, and I’ve come such a long way.

In the morning, I wake up and go out with my fur friends to use the bathroom. Sometimes sleeping makes me forget that I’m in a safe place, so my foster mom leaves the door open for me and lets me come back inside when I’m ready. It takes me a few minutes some days, but I’m working on it! A doggie door wouldn't be the life for me because I’m scared of noises and objects touching me, but an open door and quiet morning let me know it’s safe and welcoming! After bathroom, I eat breakfast outside too because that makes me most comfortable. Once I get back in, I like my morning treat and cuddles. Standing people are really tall and scary, but I love human friends who sit and let me come when I’m ready. You’ll know when I’m ready, because I’ll jump right in your lap!! I’ll spend the rest of my day napping, snuggling in your lap and going outside to get my zoomies out. I’m terrified of the leash, so freedom to run in a big yard is my exercise right now. If you have to leave the house, don’t worry about me. I don’t get into things or chew things I’m not supposed to have. I’m very trustworthy and such a good boy!

I’m learning to be a loved family member, so I’ll still need lots of help with trust, leash training and quiet. It’s nothing some time and love won’t solve, and my love bug personality definitely makes it worth the effort!

- Must have another dog sibling
- No children under age 10 (older kids okay if very experienced and won’t leave doors open. He is a huge flight risk and would never come back.)
- Large yard for exercise
- No apartments
- Female household preferred
- Work from home

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Oakley is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Low Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work