Meet Marilyn! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Marilyn is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 45 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Marilyn‘s Story

❤️Marilyn is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Woof! My name is Marilyn, but my foster family calls me Carrots, Carrie, Care Bear, or just Care. I'm a 2-year-old Female Parti Poodle, currently weighing 45lbs.

I'm a super cuddly dog who absolutely adores snuggling. I love sleeping in the bed with the humans, and I'm all about couch surfing. I love going on walks, and I'm a quick study—I learned how to walk on a leash in just a few days. I'm really good at stairs and doggie doors. While I'm 2, I didn't really get to be a puppy, so I'm having a really fun time doing that now #noshoesaresafe. I'm very funny—I love to stick my nose in sprinklers and paw my favorite human when I want attention.

I'm quite shy around strangers and especially men. I'm definitely a girl's girl. I get along just fine with cats—my current foster cat sister is a little sassy, but I put up with her. I'm good with kids too. I like to watch movies and share snacks with my 4-year-old human foster sister. She can be a little much sometimes, so our pawrents keeps a close eye on us to make sure I always have the ability to escape. When it comes to other dogs, I'm great with them. My two foster sisters are very friendly, so I'm not sure how I would react to an alpha dog personality. Even though they are very submissive and help me get out of my comfort zone, eating around them can be a bit challenging for me. I'm still learning to be more comfortable during mealtime with anyone around.

As for my schedule, life is pretty good for me. I have a dog door, so I come and go as I please. I like to go on a walk in the evenings.

I have a few quirks to work on. I can be a bit skittish at times, but not when I'm with my trusted human. Oh, and my ears are a bit sensitive, but we're working on that too. Despite my little imperfections, I'm worthy of the very best. I would thrive in a patient and understanding home that can give me the time and space I need to feel comfortable. It would be pawsome if my new family has experience with shy dogs like me, as they can help me continue to build my confidence.

- Active family
- Fenced in Yard
- Patience for training
- Only Dog
- Female only household

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Marilyn is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Needs Work
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work