Meet Lizzy! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Lizzy is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Labrador Retriever
Sex: Female
Weight: 72 lbs
Age: Adult (3-8 yrs)
Shedding: Moderate

Lizzy‘s Story

❤️Lizzy is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hello, my name is Lizzy! I'm a 4.5-year-old female Labrador who has a heart of gold! I weigh 72lbs, but I've got some pounds I still need to lose. I do shed some, and although I am no doodle, I am the sweetest most loving girl you'll ever meet! 

I'm still a bit timid and do take some time to trust humans, especially adult males. I’ll need slow and proper introductions so that I don’t get nervous, when I do get nervous I do shut down and go to my bed. I’m still learning to be a dog, so I need a family to make sure that I stay confident in myself. I have fur foster siblings which has helped! I love stuffed toys and fetch - give a girl a tennis ball and my personality shines! I have the cutest happy dance when I get really excited, especially while getting attention. Just don’t forget the belly rubs! 

I’m happy to rest until everyone is up, but I prefer to eat breakfast before going outside in the morning. I go outside during the day for potty and exercise breaks. I love to take a toy with me! I am fully potty trained and will let you know when I want to go out.

I don’t need a crate, and leashes make me nervous so I’ll need work. For now, backyard activity is essential so I can lose weight. I’m fluffy, so it’s important I lose weight to stay healthy! I’ve had a few liters, so by belly is a bit droopy. My foster mom says I’m a sweetheart, and with lots of love and patience I’ll be the best girl ever!

-Fenced yard
-Family who understands it will take me some time to warm up to male adults 
-Dog sibling required, he/she must be moderate energy to show me the ropes! 
-No children under 6, I could knock them down
-No revolving door of frequent visitors 
-Family dedicated to help me gain confidence and continue to exercise me so I can continue to lose weight 

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Lizzy is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work