Meet Lassie! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Lassie is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Standard Poodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 60 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Lassie‘s Story

❤️Lassie is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hey! My name is Lassie and I’m a 1 1/2 yr old Male Poodle who weighs about 60 lbs.

I have a big personality and quite the sense of humor. I make my foster mom laugh at my very expressive facial expressions and gestures. I am always picture ready! I’m a really easy going dog who loves chew toys, walks, cuddles and I’m learning to walk on a leash and I love to explore. I get along with everyone. Kids, cats, other dogs and I love to chase squirrels! My foster mom says I’m gonna make someone really happy, cause I’m a great dog! I don’t like to wear a harness when inside. I don’t like to be in a room by myself long separate from my family.

I wake up and eat breakfast about 6:45 and run and play outside. I love to hang out in my crate when my foster mom has to leave. I have a nice bed in there and a few chew toys. I generally go to bed around 9:30 and sleep in my crate thru the night. I like to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner with a couple treats in between. I especially like chewing bone treats!

Adjusting to my new environment with my newest Foster mom didn’t take me long at all! Even from the first night meeting her, I walked right up to her and immediately stayed by her side! She was there to get my twin brother but since he was very timid with her, I was most glad to be a gentleman and welcome her with sweet kisses. I did super good my very first night and after warming up, it wasn’t long before I was ready to go on my first adventure! Turns out I love walking along nature trails and I especially loved the lake! I really enjoyed relaxing and listening to the sounds of the water crashing to the bay!

I’ve learned that a leash is a good thing and I try not to bite it off but sometimes I get so excited to explore I just can’t help myself so please keep a good eye on me and I know that I shouldn’t just jump in your lap and kiss your face all the time but I am affectionate and just love to be close to you and let you know it! But boundaries are something we are learning. I am not overbearing and I am very intuitive. I would even make a great service dog as I am very loyal, playful yet calm as well as quite intelligent!

I have to be careful around small kids may get knocked down as I’m not very aware of my strong big size but I know not to nip or bite. As far as my behavior is concerned, I am a very good boy but I definitely need supervision and a lot of engagement. While my Foster mom works from home I am working on barking when I’m missing her attention.

- Active family
- Fenced in Yard
- Work From Home Parent/Flexible Schedule
- Patience for Training

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Lassie is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work