Meet Jaxson! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Jaxson is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Standard Poodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 63 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: Very Little

Jaxson‘s Story

❤️Jaxson is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

My name is Jaxson and I am a three-year-old Standard Poodle. I am pretty tall and weigh 63 pounds. My foster family calls me a “gentle giant” because I’m big but super sweet and calm.

I am completely potty trained, don’t counter-surf, don’t chew on things I shouldn’t, don’t jump on people, and rarely bark (only when I hear the trash truck or the mailman at the door). I am a little shy, very submissive, and sometimes get startled with loud noises. My fur siblings include a Goldendoodle and a cat. I like them both, but who I really love is my foster mom - I am completely devoted to her! I love to lay down right beside her wherever she is. If she gets up, so do I! I’m not one to cuddle in your lap, but I will always be close by!

At night, I sleep with my foster brothers (dog and cat) in a guest bedroom. Sometimes I have to be coaxed back there with a treat because I’d rather be with my humans all the time. I would probably be just perfect and happy sleeping on the floor beside their bed. I sleep all night long and don’t make a sound. When we get up in the morning, I get very excited and dance/prance around. I love to go for a walk and am very easy on the leash except sometimes when I see a squirrel. But, if it’s rainy or you just don’t feel like taking me for a walk that day, I’m good with that too! I’m also still working on “commands” like sit and stay.

I sometimes get sad when my foster mom leaves for short periods. At first, I did a little howling when she left the house, but I am learning that she always comes back so I’m not doing that anymore. I absolutely love being with my humans, though, so I need someone to be home with me during the day or to take me with them when they leave. I love to go in the car! My ideal home would be a fairly calm one. I’m very devoted to my person(s) and just want someone to love me back. My foster mom says I just might be the sweetest dog she’s ever met, and if you want to feel as adored as she does, I am your perfect dog!

Here's what I'm looking for:
- Calm and fairly quiet home
- Work-from-home parent(s)
- No small children (under age 6)

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Jaxson is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Needs Work
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work