Meet Java! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Java is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Schnauzer Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 25 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: Moderate

Java‘s Story

❤️Java is Available ❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, I’m Java! I’m a 1.5-year-old female Schnauzer mix and ready for my forever family! I’m a real firecracker with a spunky personality even though I’m only 23lbs! I do shed, but as long as you brush me often, it’s barely noticeable.

I do a fancy dance in an attempt to win your heart - it’s adorable! I love food, and do best eating in my crate. My crate is my safe place and I need it to make sure I stay calm. I’m a sock thief and think they’re chew toys, so please keep them out of reach! But don’t worry, I won’t chew your things! I love playing with my foster siblings but do best with calm dogs (medium to large) who respect my space. Men make me nervous, so I’ll need slow introductions with them until I know they’re safe. 

I sleep in my crate at night and begin my day with a cute little howl. I potty first thing when I go outside and then have breakfast in my crate. I spend the day lounging or exploring the outdoors. I LOVE a good walk with my humans! If you have to leave for short periods, I do great in my crate - I feel very safe there.

I'm potty trained but still working on my social skills. I can be a bit uneasy with new people and places, so my family must be patient with me and take things slow. I get overwhelmed easily and try to hide in your arms. I need to work on my confidence in humans so I really shouldn’t be coddled.  Meal times must be in my crate and it’s best if I’m not disturbed, I can be protective over my food. I’m excellent on a leash and am learning those basic commands. I'm so eager to please, and with some continued work, I'm going to be your best gal pal for life!

- Dog-free home preferred. If there’s a dog in the home, he/she must have good social skills (medium to large size) and respect my space.  
- Fenced backyard 
- No children under age 12
- Dedicated family willing to continue working on my training so I can be the best girl! 

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Java is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Bigger Dogs Only
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work