Meet Finn! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Finn is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Cava-Tzu (Cavalier King Charles & Shih Tzu)
Sex: Male
Weight: 27 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: Very Little

Finn‘s Story

❤️Finn is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, my name is Finn! I am a 2-year-old Cavalier King Charles & Shih Tzu mix and weigh about 27 lbs! I'm the cutest boy and have a beautiful coat with very minimal shedding.

I am cute and cuddly as can be! I love following around my foster dad and being his shadow all day. I get along with my foster fur brother well and love playing with him, but it did take me some time to get comfortable. I do tend to favor one person in the family more than others and can be protective of my favorite human. I mean well, but sometimes I misread the situation and can bark at other members in the household to protect my human. I also bark at larger dogs and strangers when on walks sometimes. I’m working on trust and socialization, and with some more work, I'm confident I'll get the hang of it!

I wake up when my foster parents do, eat breakfast, then it's potty time! I’m very chill when my parents are home, but if they leave, I do get anxious. I sometimes whine and have even knocked down indoor and outdoor barriers or been destructive out of fear/anxiety. I'd love a stay-at-home parent, and if you leave for short periods, I need to be secured for my safety. I love walks and get so excited when I see my leash! At bed time, I'll snuggle up in my crate or on the floor next to you.

I'm still working on my trust, socialization, and guarding since I am very protective of my favorite person. I may need professional training. I am also working on not jumping on the couch and bed. I understand I shouldn't do it but will still test my limits when people aren't looking. I need parents who will give me all the love and will help me work through some of my training needs.

- Stay at home parent(s) - I have separation anxiety
- Dog-free home preferred. If I have another dog, he/she must be small (under 30lbs) and patient with my jealous tendencies
- No shared walls. I can be vocal when I hear outside sounds
- A family committed to continue helping me with my behavior and training
- Moderately active family who will take me on daily walks

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Finn is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Needs Work
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: Yes


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!