Meet Espresso! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Espresso is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Schnauzer Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 18 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: Very Little

Espresso‘s Story

❤️Espresso is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi everyone! My name is Espresso, but everyone calls me Essy! I'm a female, 1.5-year-old Schnauzer mix, and I weigh 18lbs. I am really low key and prefer the simple life. I was living on the streets of south Texas, so my past is unknown but everyone knows my future is so bright! I enjoy being with my one true love: my human! I really don’t want to share my human with anyone, so I need a home where I am the only dog and my human lives the single life. More lovin' for me! I could be an excellent lap dog but need some time and space to adjust. I get overwhelmed easily, so be patient with me and I promise I'll return all the love right back! 

I get scared easily and am fearful of new people and situations, so my crate is my safe place and the center of my routine. My favorite pastime is relaxing at home and giving my person lots of kisses! I am really cute and everyone wants to cuddle me, but I am just not ready for that type of attention yet. I'll get there, but I need my human to support me in my journey and help me decompress. Luckily, I have a wonderful foster momma who is committed to setting my new momma up for success! Our journey will be slow but my foster mom says I will do great ❤️ and she will only be a phone call away!

I know I have some quirks, but I deserve love and have so much love to give! Maybe you're that person? Or maybe you know someone who is perfect for a special girl like me? Send them my way, I can't wait to finally be in my forever home! I am potty trained and do fine on a leash (I only pull when stressed). My crate is my safe place so I need to always have easy access to it. I do shed lightly, but brushing helps!

I am heartworm positive and am currently receiving treatment.  I'll need to keep activity low for the next 6 months. Due to my treatment, I can’t be spayed just yet. However, my spay (required) will be covered by DRR 4-6 months after my last heartworm treatment. 

- Single female only household
- Stay-at-home or flexible schedule
- Dog-free/no children in the home 
- Fenced in yard, I’d be best suited for a quieter area to go potty 
- Must continue heartworm treatment.
- Must spay (covered by DRR) 4-6 months after final treatment

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at


Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No
Good With Dogs? No
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work