Meet Esparanza (Espy)! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Esparanza (Espy) is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Labradoodle
Sex: Female
Weight: 53 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: Moderate

Esparanza (Espy)‘s Story

❤️Espy is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, I'm Espy, short for Esperanza! In Spanish, that means hope, and my biggest hope is to find my fur-ever family! I'm a 2-year-old female Labradoodle with lots of beautiful lab features! I do shed lightly but my coat is very easy to maintain!

My foster mom says I am an amazing pup! In my past life, I was fearful of men and not allowed inside, but I've made so much progress! Once I learn you are safe, I will love you, but I do need some time. Now, I love my foster dad so much! As soon as I get up, I find him so I can get a belly rub! If there's a man in my home, I hope he is patient with me until I learn to trust. I am very gentle when the neighbor kids come over and I love when they give me treats, but I do prefer a calmer home so older kiddos only.

In the morning, my foster parents let me out for a quick potty break, then I wait patiently by the door for breakfast time. I am a good girl in the house and follow my foster mom around quietly or lay at her feet while she works. I love being with my people, but do well home alone for short periods if you need to run an errand.

I'm potty trained, know my basic commands, respond well to "no" and I love to please my humans! I am working on leash skills instead of wandering around, but I don't ever pull or try to bolt. I'm getting more consistent with “sit,” “no jumping,” and “drop it." When new people come over, I do bark until I learn I can trust them. Once I am comfortable with you, I do jump up, but I’m learning that’s not a way to get attention for what I want - I'm making great progress! I need a loving family who understands I am still learning to trust and learning some manners. I have the sweetest heart and love big once I get to know you.

- Yard with a secure fence
- Medium activity home. I need walks and daily fetch, it helps with anxiety, but I also enjoy my space and naps
- No children under age 12. I am very friendly with kiddos but prefer a calmer home and am working on boundaries still
- Dog sibling ok, but they must be calm and respect my space until I fully feel safe

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Esparanza (Espy) is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!