Meet Ella! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Ella is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Toy Poodle
Sex: Female
Weight: 8 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Ella‘s Story

❤️Ella is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

My name is Ella Fitzgerald. I’m a Female Toy Poodle weighing 8lbs and I have the softest, tight little poodle curls that do not shed.

I was very timid when I came to DRR, but I am starting to open up. I am glued to my foster mom and I love to sit and sleep under her desk. If I lose sight of her, I want to find her quickly. I have become attached to her out of survival and because she has given me safety and lots of love. Give it time and I will love you too! I like to be held and scratches are as close to flying as I can get. It makes me smile and really relax, so much that I close my eyes. I sometimes bark at noises, but not at people, with them I am shy at first. I am learning to be an inside dog, as I lived outside before, and now I enjoy the outside for fun. Still, I hesitate to walk outside on my own even as I watch my foster dog siblings do it. I don't know how to play with other dogs yet and I don't know what toys are. I may growl and bark at my fur siblings when they get too close, but I don't bite or try to bite. I don't mind having them around, but I like my safe space. I haven't been the best eater so my foster mom feeds me several times a day.

We usually go for an early walk, then breakfast. I go outside several times a day, especially when the sun is out so we can walk around and enjoy nice weather. Snack is around 2p and I love them. Dinner is at 4:30p every day and then get my final walk between 9:30-10p. After my foster mom says good night to me and puts me in my crate. I would enjoy sleeping with my humans, but that is up to you.

Since the week before Christmas I have started showing interest in toys. I pretty much just hoard them under my foster mom's desk, until I found one of those tiny Kong tennis balls and can't get enough of it!

- No children
If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Ella is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Low Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work