Meet Duke! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Duke is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Pyredoodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 65 lbs
Age: Puppy
Shedding: Very Little

Duke‘s Story

❤️Duke is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hello! My name is Duke, and I am a 10-month-old male Pyredoodle. I weigh 65 lbs and still growing. I am half Great Pyrenees and half Standard Poodle. I’m gonna be a BIG boy! I’m very low energy and I only shed when my foster mom brushes me, which I need at least once a week.

I am the sweetest most lovable pup. I love hugs and rubs. I am very shy of most humans (especially men), though I am nice to them. I have to come to them in my own time. Since I’m so large, bigger kids may be best for me. My foster parents say I’m a chicken and scared of everything. (e.g. big noises, helicopters, the garage door). It takes me a little time to decide that I like other dogs in my own house. However, I love the dog park and I am a completely different pup when I’m there. I get along with all the dogs and even walk up to some owners.

I'm a big boy and need lots of exercise so take me on lots of walks. I’m great on the leash and will stay by your left side. I like my crate and go there several times a day to nap. If I’m not in my crate, you’ll find me lounging on my bed. I do not like when my parents have to leave me for a little while. I go in my crate, but get anxious and bark and howl (and tear my bedding to shreds). My foster Mom says I’m mostly potty trained. I’m not great at telling them I need to go out, but if I go out close to my schedule I’m good. I do whine if I need to go out, but also sometimes I whine cause I’m anxious.

I wake up between 6:30a to 8a and go potty. Then, I go upstairs and play with my toys by myself for a bit, but when my parents come to join me, I act like I wasn’t playing and go sleep the rest of the day. At night, I sleep in my crate like a good boy.

Here’s what I’m looking for:
- Must work from home due to my separation anxiety
- No children under 8
- A dog sibling required to help my confidence
- Large yard with a secure fence
- Active family for walks

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Photography by: Haute Dog Couture Pet Photography

Duke are fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Low Energy
Separation Anxiety: Yes


Potty Trained: Needs Work
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work