Meet Denton! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Denton is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle - Terrier Mix
Sex: Male
Weight: 15 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Denton‘s Story

❤️Denton is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

My name is Denton because I had a grand adventure all over Denton County before I finally made my way to DRR. But please call me Denny because I know that name and come to it! I'm a little gentleman estimated to be about 1.5 years and maybe a terrier-poodle. I was in rough shape when found but I'm working on getting up to about 15 pounds.

If you're looking for a loving lap dog, I'm your man! I just want hugs all day long because I went without when I was on my own. I'm a happy fella despite those scary times. I'm such a sweet and smart boy, it's hard to believe no one was looking for me!

My day starts at 7am when my foster dad lets me out of my crate and we go to the backyard for a potty break. I love being outside but I prefer to have a human with me. That's followed by breakfast. I spend the day sleeping and playing with my foster sister. My foster mommy takes me to the backyard several times each day and we play fetch or I chase my foster sister. When my foster daddy gets home we leash up for a walk and head home for dinner by 6pm. After an evening taking turns in everyone's laps I go outside one last time around 10pm and get my Greenie before heading to my crate for the night.

I sleep all night but I cry if my foster parents aren't in the same room so my crate sits near their bed. I also happily sit in my crate for an hour or two while my foster mommy runs errands, but remember my Greenie before you close my door! And make sure my foster sister is in her crate right next to mine. I use a crate meant for a larger dog since I've spent a lot of time in a cone. I like the extra room!

I'm house trained and will tell you I need to go outside by heading to the back door. I know to ring the bells but sometimes I ring just to go out and play! Did I mention I'm great on a leash? I'm an excellent walking buddy and also do great in the car.

The vet or groomer might say I'm feisty because I'm not trusting of people I don't see often - especially if you approach me with scissors or a needle! But my foster family says I'm a perfect angel and will let you know when I'm not feeling safe. Since I'm a young pup, there's plenty of time to work on my fear reactiveness.

- Must have another dog sibling or siblings for companionship and confidence.
- Children 15 or older only
- Active Family
- Commitment to calm for evening wind-down, decompression, and quiet lap time.
- Fenced in Yard
- Work from home
- No shared walls

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 1,000 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Denton is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: High Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!