Meet Charlie! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Charlie is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Mini Poodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 17.6 lbs
Age: Adult (3-8 yrs)
Shedding: None

Charlie‘s Story

❤️Charlie is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, I’m Charlie, a 4-year-old Male Mini Poodle. I have a soft, shed-free coat, steal-your-girl eyes, and could easily be mistaken for a baby lamb. I’m 17.6lbs, but a bit more weight would do me good.

Before I came to DRR, I lived a very isolated life. Some may think I’m a ‘fraidy cat but, in all honesty, I just haven’t been exposed to much and sometimes new things make me anxious. That said, I’m becoming more confident with each passing day in my foster home. I’ve been wearing an Adaptil calming collar and I think it helps, too.

My first DRR foster stop was a household with two big dogs. They were nice but I was completely overwhelmed. Right now, I’m shacking up with two smaller poodles and I think they’re pretty cool. They steal my toys but it’s no big thing: I’m a lover, not a fighter. And, unlike them, I won’t jump on the couch or bed unless you tell me it’s okay.

I love a routine: I can wake up at 6am or sleep in. We head out to potty and then its breakfast! I like to snooze under my foster dad’s desk throughout the day. I’ll go outside for the occasional potty break and enjoy play time with my bros. Right now, I’m getting 3 meals a day along with snacks in an effort to put on some weight, which is easy since I love food. I’ll go outside for the last time around 9:30pm each day. I’ll sleep in my bed next to you but if you invite me to join you on your bed, I won’t say no.

I’m potty trained and know how to use a doggie door! I love romping in the backyard, although yours better have a secure fence because I can wiggle myself into little escape areas. I need to know where my people are at all times and will currently cry if I’m left alone, but as I gain confidence, that will subside. Don’t have a security system? No worries! I will let you know when someone is visiting. With patience and love, treats and skritches under my chin, I will do great!


– A calm household is key; Would rather hang with adults and particularly fond of guys.
– Work from home parent
– No dogs over 25lbs

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Charlie is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Smaller Dogs Only
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work