Meet Candy! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Candy is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 9 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Candy‘s Story

❤️Candy is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi! I'm Candy, a 3-year-old female poodle mix! I'm 9 pounds, but am working on gaining a little weight. I also don't shed, lucky you! I came to DRR with an old femur injury that required amputation, and now I play and prance around with three legs like a champ! I may be small, but I'm strong and can keep up!

I can be playful, but I also love to nap in your arms or curled up on your lap. I'm fearful of loud noises, but am doing better, especially if you're near me. I used to be fearful of walks, so many noises and distractions, but now I get so excited when foster mom grabs the leash! I'm not toy or food aggressive and tolerate other dogs, but I really love being the only dog in the home! I've had a rough life and deserve all of the attention! Because I'm still a little fearful, I may bark or growl at other dogs or humans during walks, but my confidence and socialization is improving every day! I haven't been around many small children, and since I prefer a calm, quiet home, I prefer older kiddos.

I'm an early riser and sit patiently while my breakfast is prepared. After breakfast, I go out and do my business. I'm getting better at ringing the bell when it's potty time. I'm still unsure about being outside alone, so my humans come with me so I feel safe. During the day, I wait patiently while foster mom works, mostly napping until she takes a break to play or snuggle. I do get curious, so I need someone to check on me often. At the end of the day, I wind down with a short walk. If the walk is too long, I may need you to carry me so I can rest.

I'm potty trained but need frequent reminders. I don't like the crate, but I can tolerate it sometimes. I can talk a lot, especially when someone comes to the door, but if you say NO I will stop. I am a very fast learner! I also love treats and already know how to sit, turn-around, and working on lie down! 

- Dog-free home. I tolerate other dogs but need all of your attention!
- Stay-at-home or flexible schedule parent(s). I don't like being alone for long periods.
- No children under age 6. I prefer a calm, quiet home.
- Yard with a secure fence (small yard ok)

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Candy is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Needs Work
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Needs Work
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!