Meet Coco! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Coco is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Labradoodle
Sex: Female
Weight: 38 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Coco‘s Story

❤️Cali is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

My name is Cali (My foster Mom’s call me Cali Girl) and the vet thinks I am about 3 years old but I do know that I am a super sweet Labradoodle. I was super skinny when I first arrived, but I sure do love to eat and now I am about 38lbs. Everybody comments on how I am sweet, playful, and gentle.

It has been a wonderful journey for me since I wasn’t sure what it meant to be in a loving environment and now that I am comfortable, I love to give and receive snuggles with belly rubs being my favorite. I might be a little shy and timid at the start, but I adjust pretty quickly and I know that I will be loyal to my forever family. At first, I had no idea what a dog toy was and I just stared at it. Now, my favorite part of the day is to play with my toys and when my foster mom plays fetch with me, I love to chase my toys. I am still perplexed when she wants me to give it back to her, but I am starting to catch on to the routine. My foster fur siblings are a bonded pair and we all get along great, but I am looking for another fur sibling to play with. One of my favorite things to do is hang out with my foster mom and siblings when she works in her home office. I love to go on walks and I do not pull on the leash and I love car rides. When it comes time to put on my harness or put anything over my head, it brings back bad memories and I become frightened. The more that I have trusted my foster mom’s the less scared I have become.

I love my yard and I learned the doggy door quickly so I can go outside and watch and chase the squirrels whenever I want. A lot of times, I just hang out on the back patio and enjoy the sunshine so having a large yard is very important to me. Since I do love to eat so much, I often look for food on the kitchen countertops. I have a really good reach, but I jump right off the counter when told to do so. Having regular meals is new to me, so I know with time I won’t need to do this anymore. I love a routine and my foster mom wakes up early during the week, but I have some trouble sleeping in on the weekends. If I wake up at the usual time and you let me out to potty, I can sleep for a while later. I do not need a crate since I can be trusted while my foster moms are away to not chew on anything. When they get home, I get so excited that I might do some zoomies, but I calm down quickly. I usually sleep on my bed next to my foster mom at night, but don’t be surprised to wake up and find me on the main bed next to my foster fur siblings. I will need baths and require grooming since my hair gets very matted, but the great news is that I do not shed. My skin is still healing from being covered in fleas, but I feel so much better and I am itching less and less.

Earlier in my life I didn’t have the opportunity to be a puppy so now I am enjoying my playful side, but I also love to relax. I am still working on learning basic commands, but my foster moms say I am such a quick learner and they can’t believe my transformation over the past few weeks. I can’t wait to share all my love with my fur-ever family.

- Must have another dog sibling
- No children under age 6
- Active family
- Fenced in Yard
- Flexible Schedule
- Patience for Training

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Coco is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Unknown
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Low Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work