Meet Benedict! – In Foster Care

Benedict is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Lab Mix
Sex: Male
Weight: 38 lbs
Age: Puppy
Shedding: None

Benedict‘s Story

❤️Benedict is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi! I’m Benedict! I’m a 6-month-old male Lab mix and weigh 38lbs. You may remember my story, but if you don’t you should know that I’m a distemper survivor! That means I need a little extra TLC when it comes to taking my daily meds. 
 
I love to be with my people, and love playing with my foster fur sister. I’m happy to tell you when I need something with my feisty voice. I have a silky smooth coat that currently doesn’t shed - as I get older I may. I love chew toys which keep me entertained. I’m up at 7am to potty and begin my medications, and it’s best to hide them in a treat. During the day I’ll lay at your feet while you work with a couple of play breaks. Dinner is at 630pm and after that I play/explore the outdoors, then crash after my last potty break and meds. At night I’ll sleep at your bedside since I don’t need a crate!
 
I’m still working on basic commands and potty training - a regular schedule helps. I love daily walks to help build my muscle strength, but my leash skills need work. It’s important my family knows to avoid places like dog parks and high traffic dog areas so my health isn’t compromised.

 🩺MEDICAL
Since I survived distemper, I do have some side-effects from the tic in my chest muscle. Sometimes when standing I have constant movement in my front legs or even muscle weakness which can make me a bit clumsy. There are some instances where I have uncontrollable vocalization, but I promise I’m a champ through it all. I require monthly medication to manage my symptoms. This will cost roughly $150/mo. Additional details will be shared with the adopting family. Daily exercise is important for me so I can continue to build my muscle strength. My future is unknown, but the worst is behind me and as long as I have a family who is willing to care for my special needs, I’ll thank you in snuggles!

ADOPTION REQUIREMENTS:
-Adult dog sibling for me to play with, he/she must be 40lbs + and have a 2-year history of distemper vaccinations 
-No children under 15
-Stay-at-home parent(s) to help with potty training and to maintain medication schedule
-Fenced in yard 
-Medication monthly expenses $150/month

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at www.doodlerockrescue.org

Benedict has received age appropriate shots. HW-. Sterilization & microchip to be completed at 6 months and covered by DRR

Click Here To Apply For Adoption

Behavior

Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No

Training

Potty Trained: Needs Work
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work