Meet Ava! – Adoption Pending

Ava is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Cockapoo
Sex: Female
Weight: 10 lbs
Age: Puppy
Shedding: None

Ava‘s Story

❤️Ava is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, I’m Ava (aka Yennifer)! I'm a 6-month-old, female Cockapoo and weigh almost 10 lbs. I was born with hydrocephalus (build-up of fluid within the brain) - but I don’t let it slow me down one bit! More on that later…

I love to play with my fur foster sisters, though I’m the more dominant one. I do well with other dogs but am just fine soaking up all the attention myself. I love to play with my toys and run around when I get the zoomies. I like car rides, but prefer shot gun! My foster mom says I’m a little spicy and sassy, whatever that means!

I love giving my foster mom lots of kisses! I hope you like puppy kisses - I give a lot! Once I’m ready for bed, I’ll let you know with a cute bark that it’s time for my sleepy time.

I'm still learning basic commands, but I do know how to sit with lots of treats! I don’t use my crate (I’m not a big fan of it). At night, I sleep with my foster mom instead. I can be a protective over my food and toys - it’s a work in progress. I will need continued training, boundaries, and learning who is boss (not me). Potty training is a work in progress, but if you tell me to go outside, I go potty like a big girl! 

MEDICAL: My hydrocephalus is a chronic condition that caused brain malformation at birth. Because of this, I have a soft spot on my head. Luckily, I have NOT had the symptoms of hydrocephalus like blindness, seizures, circling, pacing, etc. However, sometimes I do have congestion, mainly after drinking lots of water. I usually just cough a little then go back to playing! Overall, I’m a healthy puppy, but because I have hydrocephalus, I need a family who understands that I’m not perfect. My future is very bright, but unknown. But don’t let that scare you, I feel amazing and am hopeful my symptoms will remain minimal to none!

Adoption requirements:
- No children under age 10 (must be careful with me)
- Fenced yard to continue potty training 
- Dedicated owner(s) to continue to monitor my hydrocephalus and take care of any future medical issues that could arise

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at www.doodlerockrescue.org

Ava is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption

Behavior

Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No

Training

Potty Trained: Needs Work
Crate Trained: Needs Work
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work