Meet Poppy #2! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Poppy #2 is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Standard Poodle
Sex: Female
Weight: 50 lbs
Age: Adult (3-8 yrs)
Shedding: Very Little

Poppy #2‘s Story

❤️ Poppy 2 is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hi, my name is Poppy! I’m a 4-year-old, female Standard Poodle, and I weigh about 50 lbs.

All I want is to love and be loved. Physical touch is my love language 🥰 and I’m at my happiest when I get soft pets throughout the day. Not only does this make me feel loved, it helps me learn that I am safe and secure. At first, I am not too sure of other humans, and am skeptical of nearly everyone I meet. However, with a bit of patience I’ll warm up, and you’ll see just how much love and affection I have to give. My foster family says I am truly a sweetheart and have a gentle soul.

Now, just because I am sweet and gentle doesn’t mean I don’t know how to have a good time! My foster siblings (whom I bonded with quickly) help me come out of my shell. And once they get me going, they’ll be the ones who have to keep up! We love to run circles and chase each-other through the backyard. I am very fast, and always outlast them both. I would do well with a dog sibling, but it is not a requirement.

I sleep through the night and wake up every morning when you do. I head outside to potty, return to eat a bit of breakfast, and then I’m ready to start the day with a walk. The rest of the day is spent following my foster mom around, with play breaks outside. I prefer to be outside with my person, and am not too fond of being outside when alone. It makes me think you may not return for me, so I’ll let out a loud howl. I am sure we can work on this with time and trust, though. I eat dinner around 5PM, then head out again for a short walk before settling in for the night. I’m still working on basic commands, but I’m showing progress.

** I have arthritis and need to be walked daily. It is the best therapy for my joints. My foster mom takes me on long walk and says that I am a fantastic walker. I will need to continue taking daily meds for my arthritis.

- No children under age 6
- Family that is committed to walking me on a regular schedule every day
- Fenced in yard

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Poppy #2 is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work