Meet Mia! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Mia is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 15 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Mia‘s Story

❤️Mia is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

My name is Mia and they say I'm a female poodle mix, just over a year old, weighing 15lbs.

My foster mom calls me "Maya Papaya" and describes me as a very sweet and affectionate pup who just really wants to be loved. I didn't have the best first year of my life but some good humans help get me to DRR. I'm a little skittish about the world around me as I was not allowed out in my prior home, but every day I am learning this world can be good! I'm eager to please and my foster mom says I am smart and am a pretty quick learner. I just need someone to keep helping me building my confidence, teach me and be patient as I get through the puppy years. I currently sleep in a crate at night, I am learning how to use the potty bell, wear a harness to walk, and manners as part of my daily training. I'm easily excitable and will jump over just about anything, so I will need to be watched and trained. My foster humans are trying to teach me safety and how to control my over excitement behaviors.

I LOVE being outdoors. Sometimes I will not want to come in from the backyard and I will do lots of zoomies to see if you can catch me! Please be patient and use consistent commands to teach me that it's time to come inside.

I'm learning to play with other dogs and toys, small squeaky tennis balls and Yak bones are my favorite. Sometimes I hoard toys but do not guard over them. Toys are a new thing for me and I just love playing with all of them. When I see my foster dog brother play with something, I like to gather the toys closer to me. Also learning what is okay to play with and what is not, is still something that confuses me. I like to take shoes and house slippers so please hide your nice footwear until I have a better understanding of this.

My foster mom wakes up around 6am on weekdays and around 8-9a.m on weekends. She lets me out in the back yard to potty with my fur foster dog brother and sister. I stretch, do my business and do some morning smelling around the yard for a bit. We come back in and after my foster mom takes care of some things, I eat breakfast around 7-7:30am.

I play throughout the day with my foster dog brother, who is a lot of fun to wrestle. I get snacks and get walked every couple of hours. My foster mom walks me and feeds me dinner between 4-5p.m. After we eat, we play and hang out until our last potty walk between 9-10pm. Then I go into my crate and sleep until morning. I won't get over excited in the mornings, to get out of my crate. I am a patient pup and will sit and wait until you open my crate for me to come out. I poop during my first morning potty time and about 1 hour after each meal.

- No children under age 10.
- No Apartments
- Fenced in yard
- Work From Home/Flexible Schedule
- Patience for training is a must. She is learning everything like a new puppy right now

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Mia is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work