Meet Maxwell! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Maxwell is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle Mix
Sex: Male
Weight: 60 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Maxwell‘s Story

Howdy folks! I go by Maxwell, but you can call me "Yogi" or "Wellie." I'm a robust 60lb "HunkaDoodle" on the lookout for my forever family to shower with all my affection.

I'm a laid-back guy, just aiming to be your ultimate cuddle companion. I find joy in snuggling with my foster mom and fur siblings on the couch and having a blast with them in the yard. Chew bones and toys are my jam—I can't get enough of them! According to my foster mom, I'm quite the clever chap. I've mastered sitting, laying down, staying for dinner, and offering my paw for a friendly shake. I'm confident I can pick up plenty more nifty tricks if you're up for teaching me—I'm a quick learner.

My day kicks off around 6:30, when my foster mom takes us outside for our morning business before breakfast. We get to play until she heads off to work. While she's away, I hang out in my kennel, but on some lucky days, I get to tag along with her to work. Those are my absolute favorite days—I get to mingle with other pups and make more human friends! Going to work with my foster mom is a blast, and I'm becoming a pro at being a good playmate. I'm also learning how to greet strangers; it can be a tad intimidating, but I warm up quickly because I'm a sucker for pets and cuddles.

We return home around 6-6:30 for dinner, a business break, and more playtime. Then it's time to wind down for the evening with some quality couch snuggles! I adore this time of day; nothing beats the warmth of cuddles. I hope my forever family is as keen on cuddling as I am because my foster mom swears I'm an expert cuddler, and I can't wait to cozy up with you!

I'm a work in progress with people, but my foster mom says I'm doing fantastic. I'm a big boy learning not to jump up too loudly to say "Hi!" I'm still figuring out this leash thing—there's a bit of pulling, but I'm determined to get the hang of it. And yes, I confess, I'm a bit of a counter surfer. Food just makes my heart sing, and my foster mom says I can't resist the temptation.

- Ideally a dog sibling
- Children 15 or older (Needs slow introductions)
- Active family
- Calm Household
- Fenced in Yard
- Flexible Schedule
- Patience for Training
- Commitment to Special Diet (May have chicken allergies, changed to Lamb and is much better)

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Maxwell is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Unknown
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: High Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!