Meet Hermes! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Hermes is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Standard Poodle
Sex: Female
Weight: 45 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Hermes‘s Story

❤️Hermes is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Hello! My name is Hermes and when I am out with my foster mom, people stop us to say I’m beautiful. I weigh 45 lbs and I’m 1 year old Female Standard Poodle.

At first, I am shy and would prefer to stand back and watch. Because I am shy, I like to come up to my people when they are sitting down or not really looking at me to get pets and cuddles. I LOVE the backyard and will sunbathe on the deck or run and play with my foster dog brothers. I do not like getting in trouble and can be a good listener. My foster mom says I have a gentle and calm demeanor and its soothing to be around me.

I wake up around 6am but sit quietly until my foster dad and foster dog brothers get up around 7:00. I go out and then come back in for breakfast. During the day, I like naps, letting myself in and out of the doggy door and following my foster dad around when he comes home at lunch. I get low key excited when everyone comes home after school and work, and I run around and play in the backyard. I have dinner and then sit around hoping for a walk. I’m AMAZING on a leash - I walk behind or beside my mom and don’t pull on the leash at all - unless a cat runs by. Who doesn’t go a little crazy over cats? Sometimes we just sit on the couch in the evenings and that is really nice, too. I have a nightly appointment with my dog brother to do frolicking and chasing, but then I’m ready for bed around 10:00.

I am learning basic commands, but really prefer to stand or lay down, so my foster mom hasn’t been able to teach me to “sit” and “stay” yet. I’m still working on feeling safe around people. I really don’t like when my people are loud. Since I am still learning, please keep small items like socks away from me. I will get it soon!

- Calm Household
- Fenced in Yard
- Flexible Schedule
- Patience for Training
- Dog sibling

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Hermes is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Unknown
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Needs Work
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Needs Work