Meet Havarti! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Havarti is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 36 lbs
Age: Young (1-3 yrs)
Shedding: None

Havarti‘s Story

❤️Havarti is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

My name is Havarti and I’m the life of the party! I am a 1.5 year old Female Poodle mix and my foster family calls me Havi for short. I weigh 36 lbs and I don’t shed!

I am the sweetest, most patient puppy you’ll ever meet. I was found as a skinny stray in East Texas and I’ve enjoyed learning how to be a family pet. I’m super smart and learned how to “sit” after 10 minutes of training. I am my foster mom’s shadow and follow her everywhere! I have two human foster brothers (ages 9/3) and my foster mom says I will be an amazing addition to a family with kids. Chasing tennis balls is my favorite hobby and I keep my ball with me at all times! I have the cutest spring in my step and prance everywhere I go. I love going on walks and playing outside, but I am perfectly content hanging out inside, too. I just want to be with my people. I LOVE food and treats which makes training easy!

I wake up whenever my foster pawrents wake (6:30ish during the week), but I enjoy sleeping in on the weekends! After I wake up, I immediately go outside to potty. I don’t have a set eating schedule. I still need to gain some weight, so I eat whenever I’m hungry. I go on a long walk in the morning and then take a nap while my foster mom works from home. I’m perfectly content as long as I have my ball nearby. I go out to potty several times during the day. After potty breaks, I hop up for some snuggles and then settle back down for another nap. I used to sleep in my crate, but I’ve been doing so well at potty training that I now sleep in my bed next to my foster parents at night. I sleep there until they wake up and haven’t had any accidents! My foster family crates me when they leave the house, but that’s ok with me because crate time = treat time! I’m ok with other dogs for short periods of time, but I will do best as an only dog.

I’ve mastered “sit” and “come”, but I’m still working on “shake” and “stay”. I respond very well to my name and know to stop when I hear a command. I have perfect manners when meeting strangers, but I get really excited when I see people I know, but that's improving. I haven’t spent much time in the car and get a little anxious when it’s time to go somewhere, but it’s not as scary as it used to be. I’m super fast and escaped out the front door once, but I didn’t run off. I did a couple of zoomie laps in the front yard, heard my foster mom call my name, and then ran right back inside! Did I mention I love laundry? Socks, shirts, shorts, underwear, towels - I love it all, so my foster mom watches me closely to make sure I don’t try to eat something I’m not supposed to.

- Would do best as an only dog
- Active family
- Fenced in Yard
- Work From Home Parent/Flexible Schedule
- Patience for Training
- Children age 3 & up

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Havarti is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? Yes
Good With Dogs? No
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: Some


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!