Meet Chisca! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Chisca is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Poodle Mix
Sex: Female
Weight: 44 lbs
Age: Adult (3-8 yrs)
Shedding: Very Little

Chisca‘s Story

❤️CHISCA is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

My name is Chisca but my friends call me Chisca-was a-wizard, Muppet, or Sweet Girl. She is 3 years old and a big happy poodle girl mix weighing 44lbs. I also shed, but only just a little.

I am shy at first but I secretly want to be your best friend. My foster mom thought I was just aloof but after a week of finding my bearings, I started following her everywhere just to be close to her. I don’t need to snuggle but I do want to be by your side.

It took me a little longer with my foster sister but once I realized all dogs are good, we became best friends. We play tug of war and chase the squirrel but our favorite is wrestling. I am not always high energy; I spend most of the day between playtimes napping or stealing food. Be warned: no food or food wrappers are safe when I am around. If it is on the counter, in the trash, or in a pantry with the door left open, it is fair game. I'm not naughty, just very smart and very hungry. I learn tricks in just one or two sessions if you are direct and consistent and I taught myself how to open doors. I cant figure out how to climb stairs though.

My morning starts with a fun walk, we don’t do too much because I am not a fan of the heat but, I'm great on a leash. Then breakfast, that is my favorite time of day but I am polite and let my foster sister pick which bowl of food she wants first. Throughout the day I will nap on the floor beside one of my foster parents while they work, go out the dog door to sniff around the yard, and initiate playtime with my foster sister until it is time for our 5 pm walk and dinner. My bed time is usually around 10 and I sleep on a dog bed in my foster mom’s room but I will wait for her to go to bed to lay down myself.

I know basic commands like sit, shake, come, and ”load up” … or I know what load up means but I am afraid to do it. I am not afraid of the car or car rides, just getting in the car. I am also afraid of adult men. I love all kids and women but I will bark at adult men until they let me sniff them and pet me…and sometimes I will still bark just to let them know I am still there.

I have struggled with ear infections so keeping my ears well groomed is a must. I also like to jump up on you when you come home to give you a hug. I mean well, I just get so excited and forget how big I am and how scratchy my claws can be.

I'm ready to find my perfect fur-ever home where I can find a new best friend to be a constant goofy shadow.

- No children under age 8
- Fenced in Yard
- Doggy door is helpful
- Prefer no adult males

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 500 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Chisca is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? No
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Got them down!