Meet Chewie! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Chewie is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Adoradoodle
Weight: 24 lbs
Age: Adult (3-8 yrs)

Chewie‘s Story

Hi my name is Chewie (or Chu-chu like a train!) - I am a 3-4 year old Poodle mix weighing in at 24lbs. My foster mom says I am now ready to meet my forever family. So here we are, me telling you a few things about myself and what I am looking for.

My foster mom says that I am the sweetest, calmest boy in the world. I have never lived in a home before and I have quickly come around to loving the finer things in life like a sofa! Have you ever sat on a sofa?! It is amazing!! You may think that because of my name I am a chewer. I have never chewed anything during my time in this home. I love all my “babies” as my foster mom calls them - I look at her and tell her they are toys woman, not babies. I love to gently grab them all and put them on the sofa with me or in my crate. However, I typically do this when my foster mom isn’t looking because I am not sure I should be doing it. My foster mom says I am silly to think that I can’t play with my babies!

I currently live in a home with my foster mom, foster dog sister - Sugar, she’s my queen- I really admire her. We also live with Penelope, she was my first friend here. She looks different than us dogs and makes meow sounds - apparently she’s a cat. So I’m cool with cats! I like all animals, but I tend to be a little on the shy side when there are too many dogs around me. My foster mom says that I would do great in a home with one other happy go lucky dog, so that I can really blossom into the dog I am! No dog homes are cool but I will need more time to get me out of my shell. I really like men - I am a boys boy! Anyone want to teach me to play fetch or ball?

So I met little humans (kids) and they kind of scare me, so I would do best in a home with no children or children that are 13+ years old and understand that I may be a little shy at first but I’ll come around.

I know my name but I don’t quickly come to the humans as I am not convinced its totally safe. I am sure after a little more time I will be more and more comfortable because I like when I get pets/rubs from the humans. My foster mom likes to pet my “fro” because my fur is so soft and I fall asleep when she does that.

I am really smart because of the poodle side of me. I do not shed and do really well at the groomer. I taught myself how to go outside the doggie door after 1 try! Look at how smart I am! I am still working on getting the hang of going potty outside but with walks and taking me out on the regular I learn quick & do well.

Did I mention that I LOVE long walks outside? I get excited when I see my harness and when I hear the magic words “walk”. My foster mom says I thrive on a walk. Every walk I go on, I get more and more comfortable with different sounds and smells. I wag my tail and am leader the pack. I need a new walking buddy because my current foster sister is 15 years old and she can’t go the far distance that I can. Will you be my walking buddy?

We also go on these car rides and they are so cool but I sometimes get a little upset stomach. The more and more I go on the drives the more I get used to the motions of the car. I do really well in new environments like doggie daycare, friends back yards, and new homes. My foster mom says I am an explorer.

To sum me up - I am a sweet, eager to learn boy who is searching for his forever home with another dog, great activity level, no small humans and someone who can teach me more. I have so much more life to live, will you choose me to live it out with you for forever?!

Chewie is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: Average Energy
Separation Anxiety:


Potty Trained: Needs Work
Crate Trained: Yes
Leash Trained: Yes
Basic Commands: Unknown