Meet Chevy! – Adopted - DRR Alumni

Chevy is searching for a forever home!

Breed: Sheepadoodle
Sex: Male
Weight: 45 lbs
Age: Puppy
Shedding: None

Chevy‘s Story

❤️CHEVY is Available❤️

Please READ the bio and adoption requirements first to make sure you are a perfect fit BEFORE APPLYING.

Happy New Year! My name is Chevy and I'm a 45lb, 9 month old Male Sheepadoodle. Although I was groomed to get rid of my mats, my new fur is chocolate in color, very soft and growing out in tight curls, meaning I will likely shed very little.

I'm a typical Aries, which means I'm capable, but possess deep insecurities. It takes me a lot of time to gain your trust. I am perfectly happy just observing the world from my safe space like a dog bed tucked in a corner of your living room. Like most Rams, I am extremely strong willed and have to approach things on my own terms. I still have a little submissive urination if startled or I perceive a threat, but if you have a doggy door, I will avail myself of the yard access whenever I need it. With your patience and understanding, I'm sure I'll become the confident and warm-hearted pup I was always destined to be.

I'm trying really hard to be a normal dog, but I'm not quite there yet. I would love to have a home with at least one other playful dog. My foster mom is a dog-sitter so I have a wide variety of other dogs to interact with on a daily basis. While I have shown a preference for other doodles, I also enjoy the company of a retriever that comes a few times a week. These other dogs are teaching me that most humans are really great to be in the same room with, even if I'm not quite ready to snuggle. They are also teaching me that I'm supposed to bark when the mailman or Amazon guy comes to the door.

My days are fairly laid back. I observe the other dogs and try my best to mimic them. After they all go back to their own homes, I quietly hang out on a dog bed while the humans eat dinner and watch TV. If no one is around at night, I will investigate and play with toys (and chew on the occasional shoe I find), but most recently I have slept quietly all night on the floor right by my foster mom. I am a great eater as long as no one is watching. I enjoy my kibble, but my foster dad has tried to win me over by giving me Arby's roast beef as a treat. In return, I let him rub my tummy as a thank you, but in reality, I much prefer my foster mom.

I'm still working on my leash skills and not wanting to dart away whenever a loud noise, car or another dog comes near. I can be quickly corrected as long as I'm in a secure harness. I ride nicely in the car once you convince me to get in. (I've learned that Puppuchinos are a thing at this place called Starbucks.) As much as I really want to come inside when you call me, I do best when you just let me enter through the doggy door when I'm good and ready. (I will peak in to make sure the coast is clear). Dog parks are not going to be a good idea right now unless you want to look really silly chasing me around.

- I have to have a private fenced yard. Relying on walks or shared greenspace for my potty activities will not suffice.
- I ABSOLUTELY MUST have another dog sibling, preferably with moderate energy. 50/50 play rest ratio.
- No children under age 10. I'm not aggressive, and I will let kids pet me, I just don't want to have that interaction just yet.
- You don't have to be home all day as long as you have a doggy door and aren't gone for overly extended periods of time. I can be left in a secured room with my bed and toys (and fur sibling) and will be perfectly fine. I might even wag my tail when I see you again.

If you meet all of the requirements and live within 350 miles of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX, please apply at

Chevy is fully vaccinated, HW-, sterilized and microchipped.

Click Here To Apply For Adoption


Good With Kids? No Small Children
Good With Dogs? Yes, All dogs
Good With Cats? Yes
Energy Level: Low Energy
Separation Anxiety: No


Potty Trained: Needs Work
Crate Trained: No, Don't need one!
Leash Trained: Needs Work
Basic Commands: Needs Work